top of page

Week Eight (Two Shoots)

Continuing with theme of photographing local businesses and their working environment. I have photographed two places this week, a butchers and a fish monger. Both leading on from each other in the local Chester Market. I hope to obtain strong portraits in their working environments and capture their skills.

Shooting the butchers on the Monday and the fish mongers on the Thursday, to work around my university lectures . I was surprised with how easy they were to agree with me photographing them. The business owners decided the best days for me to photograph them, whilst they are processing big portions of meat or fish.

Firstly I went to the butchers. They allowed me full access to their working space, whilst they worked and processed the meat. A couple of the images I particularly like from this shoot:

My second shoot being with the fish mongers about ten meters away from the butchers. I don't think this was as strong as the butchers shoot, but they also allowed full access into their workshop and space. Here are a couple of images I like from this shoot:

Overall I am happy with the results of both shoots. After these particular shoots, it maybe worth trying more high-street shops. I would've liked stronger portraits to go alongside the textual images.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page